Summer Is Here!

Just a short update about my photographic adventures so far this year: I really enjoy the colours that Summer has to offer us, there’s something very calming about sitting amongst vibrant flowers and it’s especially rewarding when you watch bees and insects appreciating your hard work, it’s almost worth the constant hayfever sneezes that the pollen causes!

A recent trip to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens

A recent trip to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens

We’ve only been living in Berkshire for a year or so and so I feel I still have lots of discovering to do in this part of the country, but I’ve enjoyed all that I’ve discovered so far. I did manage a short trip out to the wonderful Welford Park, a private estate that opens up to the public during snowdrop season so you can enjoy a walk through the ancient woodlands to admire these little white beauties. The display was impressive and I was lucky to have sunshine on the day I visited too, a relief after all the rain we’d been having for weeks!

Snowdrops at Welford Park, Berkshire

Snowdrops at Welford Park, Berkshire

Spring brought the return of the fantastic Red Kites to the Berkshire/Hampshire skies and I love nothing more than taking my camera out for a walk to see if I can find these beautiful Birds of Prey. Kingsclere, Hampshire is one of my favourite nearby villages and the Red Kites are regularly found flying low over the village; I have a feeling that some residents feed them, but it gave me a chance to watch their fantastic acrobatic displays and how their forked tail is used as a ‘rudder’ to steer as they twist and turn through the sky. I was lucky enough to watch five Red Kites playing together on the thermals over a field near to the famous Watership Down near Wayfarer’s Walk, somewhere I’m yet to explore.

Red Kite watching me over Kingsclere village, Hampshire, UK

Red Kite watching me over Kingsclere village, Hampshire, UK

Hopefully I’ll have more photos to update you with soon, there are lots of other photos on my website so feel free to take a look! http://www.emmaskinnerphotography.co.uk

 

2 thoughts on “Summer Is Here!

Leave a comment